DNS: perhaps suspect trading practise -Reply

DNS: perhaps suspect trading practise -Reply

From: Chris Ruggles <CRUGGLES§CHOICE.COM.AU>
Date: Wed, 17 Jun 1998 14:24:30 +0900
Please let me know what the outcomes of your complaints
to the ACCC and Offices of Consumer Affairs.

Chris Ruggles
Computer CHOICE
57 Carrington Rd
Marrickville  NSW  2204
Ph: 02 95773380
>>> Stephen Baxter <steve&#167;senet.com.au>
17/June/1998 11:17am >>>

[I am not sure of the relevance of this list any longer due to
most people
publically stating that it could be abandoned due to it being
to turned
into the 'Adam and Jim Show' but here goes anyhow]

Some of our customers have been getting a faxed out flyer
from the

Australian and New Zealand Domain Name Registry
Level 1/24 Bayswater rd
Potts Point NSW 2011

regarding 'securing their trading name now'.

it is an add for au.com

I find the add very misleading indeed as it pertians to a
very little
chunk of name space but the add seesm to imply
impending doom if people do
not take action. Has anybody seen this flyer ?

It uses terms like :

'...protect your trading name...'
'Once it is registered your goodwill is safe'
'..be warned, there are no restrictions...'

I will be contacting consumer affairs in SA and NSW for
an opinion as well
but I ask people on this list for their opinion (please note
that some
posts get ditched before reaching my mailbox and all I get
is a daily
counter of attempts :-) ).

Stephen Baxter             SE Network Access/Big
Networks Australia
phone : +61 8 8221 5221    222 Grote Street 
fax   : +61 8 8221 5220    Adelaide 5000, Australia

(www.ausbone.net - do not go quietly into the night !)
Received on Wed Jun 17 1998 - 15:20:17 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Sat Sep 09 2017 - 22:00:03 UTC