RE: [DNS] moderator

RE: [DNS] moderator

From: Chris Disspain <ceo§>
Date: Wed, 6 Mar 2002 08:38:01 +1100
Good point Greg.

Obviously, all accredited registrars will be required to abide by the
registrars agreement and published policies (which at this stage include
the Interim Code of Practice) when we 'go live'. In the interim period
we cannot force the issue. I would have thought that those who aspire to
become fully accredited would consider it wise to abide by the code as
it presently stands. 


Chris Disspain
CEO - auDA

-----Original Message-----
From: Greg Taylor [mailto:gtaylor&#167;] 
Sent: Tuesday, 5 March 2002 11:54
To: dns&#167;
Subject: RE: [DNS] moderator

At 07:48 AM 5/03/2002, Sasha Sudakov wrote:
>Provisionally Accredited Registrars
>"The following organisations have been Provisionally Accredited.
>This means that, subject to successfully completing the
>Interface Test,
>  they will be fully accredited to become operational when the new
>goes live." (auda website
>Internet Name Group
>Namescout Corporation
>NetRegistry Pty Ltd
>Nexsta Communication

Why is ING (nor indeed any of the other provisional registrars) not
amongst the organisations that have indicated they will voluntarily
with the Code of Conduct?

Perhaps Clause 8 is a problem, for ING at least:
"8. Renewal Notices
Registrars and resellers shall not send to registrants renewal notices
appear to be (or could be construed as) invoices for payment, unless the

registrant is their customer.
All solicitations for business should be clearly identified as such, and

should include a statement that the registrant is under no obligation to

respond and may choose to renew their domain name licence through their 
existing registrar or reseller."


List policy, unsubscribing and archives =>
Please do not retransmit articles on this list without permission of the

author, further information at the above URL.  (331 subscribers.)
Received on Fri Oct 03 2003 - 00:00:00 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Sat Sep 09 2017 - 22:00:05 UTC