What is Ed Sweeney up to now?

What is Ed Sweeney up to now?

From: <magic2147§optushome.com.au>
Date: Mon, 11 Oct 2004 17:44:44 +1000
Probably the most execrated domain name registrar in the known registrar is good old Aussie 
Capital Networks Pty Limited.

But things are afoot.

I went to redelegate one of our gTLD domains that have been araldited into Totalnic 
(http://www.totalnic.net.au)  and found this announcement "PacNames is pleased to 
announce it recently acquired the TotalNIC gTLD registrar".

One is directed to http://icann.totalnic.net/contact.php where among sparse detail is an email 
contact address: info&#167;pacnames.com

http://www.pacnames.com/ is more or less the same  as http://icann.totalnic.net

A whois lookup reveals:

> Website Status: 	Active	
> Server Type: 	Apache/1.3.29 (Unix) PHP/4.3.4 mod_ssl/2.8.16
> OpenSSL/0.9.7c (Spry.com also uses Apache)	 IP Address:
> (ARIN & RIPE IP search)	 IP Location: 	 - Colorado - Golden - Aim High
> Inc	 Record Type: 	
>Domain Name	 
>'pacnames' or 'pa names' in all domains.	
>Name Server:
> ICANN Registrar: 	CAPITAL
>Created: 	20-jul-2004	 Expires: 	03-oct-2014	 
> Registrant:
>   Technical Manager
>   42 Montgomery Avenue
>   Murrays Bay
>   North Shore City  nil  nil
>   NZ
> Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact, Zone Contact:
>   Technical Manager  (STO00063)  
>   PacDomains, Ltd. dba PacNames
>   42 Montgomeray Avenue
>   Murrays Bay
>   North Shore City  nil  nil
>   NZ
>   Tel: +1.3033021400
> Domain servers in listed order:
>   webhost1.capital.hm
>   webhost2.capital.hm
> Record expires on 2014-10-03 20:33:26+10
> Record last updated on 2004-10-07 05:39:21+10
> Record created on 2004-10-04 21:49:33+10
> Domain created on 2004-07-20 10:54:09.0

pacnames.net has the same whois information.

Note that in contravention of ICANN rules the registrant's name is incorrectly rendered but 
also note that a search at the NZ Companies Office (http://www.companies.govt.nz/) was 
unable find any trace of any company registered in NZ under the name of PacDomains, Ltd (
at least not as of this arvo) which is given as the Tech Contact.

Is this a real sale or an attempt by Ed to distance himself from the odium (see associated 
with Capital Networks/Totalnic? I think we should be told.



Whois | About us | Reverse IP | Whois History | Mark Alert | XML N
Received on Fri Oct 03 2003 - 00:00:00 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Sat Sep 09 2017 - 22:00:07 UTC